Coconut soup for the soul

pregnancy food bumpAnother of my interests aside from mums, midwifery and hypnobirthing is good food and nutrition. Essential for wellness and a happy life. I love to cook and I love to eat even more.

Marie Mongan, founder of HypnoBirthing believes many common ailments of pregnancy can be alleviated by simple changes to ones diet. For example, anaemia in pregnancy may be reduced by introducing more red meat and fresh greens first as opposed to pharmacological methods.

I am now back at work as a community midwife three days a week which means I need a good lunch inside me to deal with our workload and the toddler nursery pick up at the end of the day. In our office at the moment we are all going crazy for homemade soups. Some of the girls have special gadgety soup makers, however I just use my blender to make mine. A new one I’m trialling is from a new book of mine – ‘Hemsley-Hemsley’. It’s a no cook recipe which I’ve just whipped up in about five minutes while the little one is napping. You just whack all the ingredients in a bowl and melch them up with a hand blender. This is a great recipe for busy mums on the go and for pregnancy. It contains good fats from avocado  and coconut milk. And immune boosting lime, garlic and ginger. Great for the chilly, headcold weather we’ve been having. Enjoy.

No cook coconut soup:

1 tin coconut milk

80g tomatoes

1 avocado

1 garlic clove

1 thumb size piece root ginger (I used ready chopped lazy ginger from a jar)

3tbsp miso paste (readily available in supermarkets)

juice of 1 lime

2 spring onions

Warm through once blended. Yummy. Though I’ve boxed mine up straight into the fridge. Three days worth of packed lunch for work sorted.

Jade x

Leave a Reply

